Home >  Rajasthan >>

About Rajasthan (Page 1)

 Geographical boundaries
 Rajasthan Districts
 Administrative units
 Population and language
 Industries and Minerals
 Fairs and Festivals
 Arts and Crafts of Rajasthan
 Energy and Oil
 Water and Irrigation system
 Wildlife and National Parks
 Forts in Rajasthan


    Fort of Chittorgarh

   Rajasthan is one of the 26 states of the republic of India, is situated in the north western part of India. It covers 342,239 square kilometres (132,139 square miles) is the largest state of the Republic of India in terms of area. Rajasthan lies between latitudes 23 degree 3' and 30 degree 12', north and longitudes 69 degree 30' and 78 degree 17', east. The southern part of Rajasthan is about 225 km from the Gulf of Kutch and about 400 km from the Arabian Sea.  Rajasthan is bounded by Pakistan in the west and north-west; by the State of Punjab in the north; by Haryana in the north-east; by Uttar Pradesh in the east, by Madhya Pradesh in the south-east and Gujarat in the south-west.

   Rajasthan is the land of Thar Desert  ( 58%), surrounded by beautiful Aravalli hills Range, a land of  Forts, and a land of ancient civilization in the banks of disappeared Sarsawti river. Rajasthan is one of the beautiful states of India which attracts very large number of domestic and foreign tourists. Jaipur the capital of Rajasthan is the capital of Rajasthan. Mount Abu an oasis in the desert


 History of Rajasthan has a rich and colorful history making it one of the most popular tourist destinations in India. Rajasthan was once a part of the world's first and oldest Indus Valley Civilization. Rajasthan was earlier called Rajputana (state of Rajputs) after the ruling class of Rajputs. It has a glorious history like Bappa Rawal,  Gora - Badal,  Samrat Prithvi Raj Chauhan,  Maha Rana Pratap,   Veer Durga Dass Rathore, Amar Singh Rathore,  Rani Padmini,  Rao Shekhaji, Meera Bai ,  Panna Dhai , Gogaji ,   Baba Ramdeoji (बाबा रामदेवजी)   and many more.

Mahararana Pratap

   History of Rajasthan

  Unesco declares 6 Rajasthan forts World Heritage Sites on June 21, 2014
   Forts in Rajasthan 

  Geographical boundaries

  The Northwestern thorn scrub forests lie in a band around Thar Desert between the desert and the   Aravalli hills Range in Rajasthan  This region receives less than 750 mm of rain in an average year, and summer temperatures can exceed 45 C in the summer months, and drop below freezing in the winter. The Godwar, Marwar, and Shekhawati regions lie in the thorn scrub forest zone, along with the city of Jodhpur. The Luni River and its tributaries are the major river system of Godwar and Marwar Regions, draining the western slopes of the Aravallis and emptying southwest into the great Rann of Kutch wetland in neighboring Gujarat. The Ghaggar River, which originates in Haryana, is an intermittent stream that disappears into the sands of the Thar Desert in the northern corner of the state. The Aravalli Range and the lands to the east and southeast of the range are generally more fertile and better watered.

  Rajasthan Districts

  There are 32 districts in Rajasthan. The list of 32 districts of Rajasthan  are: Ajmer, Alwar, Banswara, Baran, Barmer, Bhilwara, Bikaner, Bharatpur, Bundi, Chittorgarh, Churu, Dausa, Dholpur, Dungarpur, Ganganagar, Hanumangarh, Jaipur, Jaisalmer, Jalore,   Jhalawar, Jhunjhunu, Jodhpur, Karauli, Kota, Nagaur, Pali, Rajsamand, Sawai Madhopur, Sikar, Sirohi, Tonk, and Udaipur.

  Administrative units

  There are 32 administrative units, Districts, in Rajasthan. Jaipur is the Capital of the State. At present The Congress  has been elected to power. The Governor of the state is S.K.Singh and chief minister is Ashok Gehlot. The High Court is situated at Jodhpur, with a bench at Jaipur.
  The number of   Jila Parishad: 32 :  Tehsil: 241 ,   Panchayat Samities: 237,   Gramm Panchyat: 9188,  Municipalities: 183,   Number of Villages: 41,353,   Cities and Towns:  222 
  Major cities:are  Jaipur, Jodhpur, Udaipur, Kota, Ajmer, Bikaner, Bhilwara, Alwar, Sri Ganganagar, Jaisalmer 

  State Assembly seats:  200,   Parliament Seats: 25 and   Rajya Sabha Seats: 10

  Rajasthan Chief Minister

     Vasundra Raje

 Vasundhara Raje took oath as the chief minister of Rajasthan on December 13, 2013.  The Congress routed in Rajasthan in 2013 assembly polls by BJP under the leadership of Vasundra Raje 

  The Thar Desert of Rajasthan

Black bugs in Wildlife Sanctuary Talchaper

  Solar Energy in Rajasthan
 Government to build world's largest solar power plant in Rajasthan

 State Tree is Khejri (खेजडी)

   Bajra is the main crop

    Migratory bird Kurja
   Wildlife Sanctuary Talchaper

   Desert Ship Camel

    Arts and Crafts of Rajasthan

Vasundhara Raje sworn in as Rajasthan CM

        Page    1             2          NEXT    >



Copyright 2006,  gits4u.com  All Rights Reserved.